Dar es Salaam Diary

My good-natured  friends often spoke longingly of their home countries, as I did of Pakistan. I used to say, “someday I will visit East Africa,” not knowing when the opportunity would arise.

Today is Someday, and I write from the beautiful city of Dar es Salaam, where I am working on the evaluation of an economic development project for the British Government. Perhaps it is the old colonial buildings which dot the city, or the fact that there is a Gymkhana right across from where I am staying, but I feel as if I have had a connection with this city for some time. There is much to explore and I have only just arrived, but so far I have found it captivating.

Off to work now, but here are a few pictures from a walk I took yesterday evening, along with a promise of more from Dar later.

2 thoughts on “Dar es Salaam Diary

Comment on this article

